Tomes and Topics
Tomes and Topics Podcast
Movies
0:00
-8:16

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Tomes and Topics

Movies

The next-best-thing to books.

Every summer when my children were younger, we spent countless nights at our local drive-in theater. Sadly, it closed halfway through the summer last year, and isn’t slated to open this summer either, due to renovation plans. I hope it does reopen, but I’m not optimistic.

There’s nothing like sitting outside on a blanket on the tailgate of a pickup or under a blanket on a folding chair with a huge screen before you and the sounds of the movie coming from speakers all around you. Add to that a giant tub of popcorn and some cold drinks and you have the perfect way to spend an evening. To make things better, most of the time there were two movies, so it made for a long, yet pleasant, evening. By the time we’d pack things up, it would be well past one a.m., and I’d usually have to transfer the sleeping kids to the car.

I miss those nights.

Movies, especially when watched at a drive-in theater or in a really nice cinema, are magical. It’s sad that the theaters I once loved are now gone or abandoned and falling apart.

The Granada theater in Norfolk was probably my first experience with a theater that I remember. To my child’s mind, it was massive, but it would probably pale in comparison to some of the behemoth theaters that exist now. With age, I do appreciate the size and the reclining aspect of today’s theater seats, but I have a nostalgia for the old flip-down padded seats.

I wish I could remember the first movie I ever went to in a theater, but I don’t. I do remember going to the drive-in theater in Norfolk back when there still was one, and I recall watching “The Thing,” starring Kurt Russell, there and being extremely frightened while watching it. That’s because it was on that big screen which intensifies everything it projects — or because I’m just a big fraidy cat when it comes to horror movies.

While I appreciate the ease in which cable and Netflix bring movies into my home, I bemoan the decline of movies and their theaters that accompanied the surge in popularity of streaming services — that decline was then compounded by the Covid restrictions. Fortunately, I’ve been noticing an uptick in quality movie premieres as well as people going to the movies — just look at what’s happening with “Top Gun: Maverick” right now.

I even saw a newer drive-in theater near Bennington called Quasar Drive-in Theater, and a look at its website shows that they show new and older movies. Might be worth a drive to take in one of the shows this summer.

Pairing my love of movies with my love of writing, I composed this poem about my life using only movie titles to do so. I call it “My ‘Reel’ Life.” Get it? I hope so. I haven’t seen all the movies whose titles I used, but I have seen many of them. I’ve added a few titles to the poem since the original composition, and I expect I’ll add more down the road to reflect additional twists to my life.

Here’s the poem:

My “Reel” Life
 
We Are Marshall
One Day in September
Friday the 13th
Happy Birthday to Me
Tammy

Eat Pray Love
How to Swim
We Need to Talk About Kevin
I Want a Dog
Big Bully

Adventures in Babysitting
1984
Sixteen Candles
Crush and Blush
Rules of Dating
Back By Midnight
Riding in Vans with Boys
The Girl on a Motorcycle

A Beautiful Mind
An Education
The Assignment
Easy A
Student Bodies
College Road Trip

Twenty-One
Bar Hopping
35 Shots of Rum
The Hangover
Dazed and Confused

A Few Good Men
50 First Dates
Two Lovers
Falling in Love
The Cowboy
The Roommate
The Proposal

License to Wed
A Wedding
From Here to Eternity
After the Wedding
Married Life

The Art of Getting By
Hard Times
Used Cars
Nine to Five
Life
Reality Bites

Follow That Dream
Just Write
Center Stage
Leave ‘Em Laughing
Funny Ha Ha
The Absent-Minded Professor
The Reader

Due Date
The Perfect Son
Dream House
Blink
Busy Day
Motherhood

Because I Said So
Dinner Time
Early to Bed
Birthday Girl
I am Sam
You Are My Sunshine

My Best Friend
Sylvia
The Mexican

This is 40


The Man Who Wasn’t There
Useless

Beyond Borders
Anywhere But Here
The Ocean
The Real Cancun
Swimming
A Day at the Beach

Under the Tuscan Sun
Roman Holiday
I Can Hear the Sea
Barcelona

Why Did I Get Married?
Between Love and Hate
The Wrong Guy
The Ape Man
Intolerable Cruelty
Rocky
The Jerk
Big Fat Liar
Misery

The Awful Truth
The Ugly Truth
Rumor Has It . . .
Another Woman
All Hell Broke Loose
Enough
Loser

The Moment of Truth
People Will Talk
The Divorcee
Home Alone
How to Deal

A Better Life

My Brilliant Career
The Writer
The Words
The Rewrite
The English Teacher
Author! Author!

The New Guy
Kim
Date Night
Being There
Let the Right One In
Stand By Me
True Romance

On the Road
Why We Ride
The Motorcycle Diaries
Nebraska
Road Trip
Vacation
Easy Rider

Don’t Look Back
Just Imagine
Hereafter
It’s a Wonderful Life

Many people who have read my books tell me that they would make great movies and that they can “see” the stories as they read them as though they were movies playing in their heads. I always love hearing that, and I’d really love to have one or more of my books become movies someday.

Most of the time, though, in my opinion, the movie is either so very different from the book or it is done so poorly that it angers those who loved the book; however, every now and then the movie turns out to be so much better than the book or original story.

I’m going to share my favorite movies-from-books. If you’re not yet a paid subscriber, please consider becoming one. If you are, read on.

Thanks.

Tomes and Topics is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Tammy Marshall

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tomes and Topics to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Tomes and Topics
Tomes and Topics Podcast
A serving of my novels in progress with a side of humor about something I enjoy.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tammy Marshall
Recent Episodes